Portland Road, Birmingham, B17 8LS

This Website

is provided by

The Neale (Tennis) Trophy (1983-1991) & The Roy Freeman Cup (1992-1995)


The Neale Cup was given to us by the defunct Tennis section in 1981 by the Neale family.  It wasn't until 1983 that we used the trophy for competition. In 1992 this trophy was replaced by the Roy Freeman Cup which then went on to form the Roy Freeman Club Championship in 1996.



Neale (Tennis) Trophy (1983-1991)


Year Winner Runner Up
1983 Peter Gwilt  
1984 Roy Freeman  
1985 Bill Withers  
1986 Keith Underhill  
1987 Peter Nichols  
1988 Paul Freeman  
1989 Brian Heaselgrave Paul Freeman
1990 Ian Tew  
1991 Ian Tew Chris Price

Roy Freeman Cup (1992-1995)

Year Winner Runner Up
1992 Bob Aldred Nigel Freeman
1993 Keith Underhill  
1994 Malcolm Spencer  
1995 Ollie Newman Peter Nichols



The Neale Trophies - Explained

Mr Alfred Neale of Albany House, South Road, Smethwick was the President of Smethwick Cricket & Athletic Club between 1923 and 1937. He died on 3rd December 1937. He directed the trustees of his will to purchase three silver trophies for Smethwick Cricket Club to be competed for annually by the bowls, cricket and tennis sections respectively.

The cricket section used their Neale trophy to award the player of the year, the bowls section for the club championship and the tennis section for the mens singles. Roy Freeman is the only person to have won all three Neale trophies (tennis 1954, cricket, 1956, bowls 1978, 1979, 1980, 1983).

Alfred Neale is pictured centre front row. His son Alfred James Leslie Neale is pictured far left front row. The great test bowler Sydney F Barnes is pictured far right front row.